Rutgers’ Big East football schedule released

By Matt Sugam

The Big East has announced each school’s conference schedule. And with a slew of new teams in the conference, Rutgers will host a few new faces and travel to new places in their eight game conference slate.

Rutgers will welcome Houston, Cincinnati, USF and Temple to High Point Solutions Stadium. They will travel to Boise State, UCF, Connecticut and Louisville.

With 12 teams in the league, the conference has been split up into two divisions. Rutgers plays every team in their division and three teams from the other division.

Dates and times for the games have not been set yet.

For the first time, the Big East will have a championship game featuring the two division winners. Rutgers is in the East Division with UCF, Cincinnati, Connecticut, Louisville and USF.

It may very well be Rutgers last season in the Big East as they have accepted an invitation to join the Big Ten and will likely join in the summer of 2014.

As a refresher, here’s Rutgers out of conference schedule:

Thursday, August 29          at Fresno State

Saturday, September 7       Norfolk State

Saturday, September 14     Eastern Michigan

Saturday, September 21     Arkansas

Follow Matt Sugam on Twitter

Like Matt Sugam on Facebook