Big East Sets Up Football Divisions

By Matt Sugam

The football divisions of the new Big East have been set, and Rutgers will be in the East division with Connecticut, Central Florida, South Florida, Cincinnati and Louisville. That means they’ll play each of those teams every season along with three teams from the West division to fill the eight game conference schedule.

The news was first reported by and the Big East later confirmed the report in a press release.

The league made the divisions based on rivalries and geography. That is except for Temple. The Owls are the lone east coast team to finds themselves in the West division with Boise State, San Diego State, Memphis, Houston and SMU.

“This new alignment gives the Conference and its fans the best of both worlds – national exposure that is a result of the Big East being in six of the top 10 U.S. media markets – with a schedule that focuses on spirited regional rivalries,” Big East Commissioner Mike Aresco said in a statement.

Going into affect next year, the winner of East and West division will face off in a championship game, which Aresco has said will be played at the the home of the higher-ranked team.

“This unique combination of nationwide scope and regional flavor reflects our commitment to innovation in response to the changing landscape in college football, while honoring a tradition of success on the field and in the classroom,” Aresco said.

With Navy set to join the Big East in 2015 and the conference actively pursuing a 14th member, Aresco said the alignments will likely be revised in the near future.

Follow Matt Sugam on Twitter

Like Matt Sugam on Facebook